Natural vs. Medicated Birth: Do your Research

As many of you know, I had a natural childbirth. I did not use medicine of any kind, did not have the epidural, wasn’t induced with Pitocin or any labor inducing drugs, and birthed in a birthing center with a big bathtub for a water birth. It didn’t take me long to discover the pro’s of natural childbirth, but I needed to do research and speak with other women who had done it before I felt confident in my decision. I want to give my opinion and helpful pro’s and con’s about natural childbirth in the hopes that I can help in a woman’s decision much like other women did for me.

This is a very sensitive subject for a lot of women. Some people are very pro-epidural and others are very pro-natural childbirth. I realize that I may be biased because I am pro-natural, but I feel that too many people completely overlook this option. Most OBGYN’s are very similar, you show up for your appointment, meet with a nurse practitioner who weighs you and takes your vitals, the doctor comes in to hear the heartbeat and asks you for any questions, and then you both go along your merry way. He may talk to you about “options” aka, the epidural as soon as you get to the hospital or the epidural once he convinces you to get it when your contractions get intense. OBGYN’s are certified surgeons who are also trained in gynecology. They are trained to handle the worst case scenarios, emergency C-sections, and often push toward what they are specialized in to avoid maternal and infant complications. If you have an abnormal pregnancy with pre-existing problems, then I can understand the risk. But if you’re healthy, have a totally normal pregnancy, and aren’t at risk for complications, a C-section is rarely necessary. However, thanks to combinations of other modern medicines, it’s getting more and more popular.

America is now at 30% of all babies being born by C-section. At the Salem Hospital, it’s over 40%. This is from a number of very debilitating choices from both the mother and her doctors. Over 22% of all pregnancies are induced before 41 weeks gestation. The process of induction begins with a drug called Pitocin. Pitocin is pumped into your body from an IV drip, the amount of which is turned up every hour until you reach the contraction pattern that your doctors are looking for. It also will help dilate your cervix; once it reaches 10cm, it’s usually time to begin the pushing process of labor. Pitocin is a very hard drug on both the mother and the baby. It speeds contractions up, makes them significantly more intense and you’re unable to leave the hospital bed to get into a more comfortable position for contractions, such as squatting, bouncing on a medicine ball, lounging in a bath, or leaning over the hospital bed. Because it makes contractions so intense, many women decide to get the epidural. The epidural is an anesthetic that is supposed to numb your lower half to make contractions more bearable. It’s inserted via a needle into your spine. For some reason, epidurals and Pitocin don’t really get along. When you get the epidural, often times your cervix will retract and your contractions will lessen. Because doctors like to see quick progress, they’ll up the Pitocin even more. And so begins a downward spiral. Many babies do not react well to the extreme intensity of the Pitocin-induced contractions, causing heartrates to drop and fetal distress. And because the two drugs counteract each other, over 25% of all inductions will result in an emergency c-section.

Now, the con’s of epidurals don’t stop there. “Epidurals are associated with increased rates of operative vaginal delivery, prolonged labor, fetal malposition, and intrapartum fever–Evidence supports the claim that epidurals increase the duration of both the first and second stages of labor. (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1595214/)”   There is also talk that the aftereffects of the epidural for the mother can be anywhere from numbness at the injection site, to periodic back pain, to severe back pain or becoming paralyzed. While most OBGYN’s know the side effects, they very rarely tell mothers. Most OBGYN’s encourage the epidural for the immediate relief from contractions. The use of epidurals is over 50%, in some places it’s between 80-90%. Apart from the epidural side effects, I know from firsthand experience that it dramatically effects the ability to breastfeed.

Many women have a very hard time breastfeeding their babies: lack of production, bad latches, and tongue-ties to name a few. “As many women are induced with Pitocin, which must be given through an IV, the amount of fluids given to many mothers in labor increases. With a constantly running IV, fluid can accumulate in the mother and baby. This situation can set up several problems. If a mother is edematous (swollen with fluid) her nipples will be harder to latch onto. If a baby is edematous it can lose more than the standard 10% of it’s bodyweight, thus giving the doctor the indication that baby isn’t nursing enough, setting up for the supplementation cycle, when in reality the baby could be draining off excess fluid (http://www.lactivist.com/medbirth.html).” Your milk can take anywhere from a day to a week to come in, allowing babies to eat Colostrum, a milk produced with a very high fat content. All babies lose weight within the first 24 hours, but once they begin eating healthy amounts of Colostrum, they gain the weight back tenfold. When babies suck and pacify on mom’s nipples, it stimulates milk production, causing the milk to come in quicker. The amount of milk production differs from each woman, but with the right diet, calorie intake, and stimulation, breast feeding production should be easy to obtain. A month after my daughter was born, my midwife posted a video of something called the “breast crawl”. In short, the video was about the ability for newborn babies to crawl up the mother’s chest to latch on to her breast within the first 15 minutes after birth. The study showed less than 50% of the babies who were medicated and did not go to the mother’s chest within the first 15 minutes were unable to perform the crawl. It also showed that 50% of all women who had a medicated birth and had their baby on their chest within 15 minutes had babies who could not perform the breast crawl. Almost 100% of the babies who were not medicated and on the mother’s chest within the 15 minutes were able to breast crawl and latch on correctly. The effects from medicated births are very real and proven to make labor and newborns much more difficult for mother’s.

I know a lot of mom’s are easily convinced to use drugs because they’re afraid of labor and the pain of contractions. After reading books like Ina May Gaskin’s Guide to Childbirth and Orgasmic Birth, as well as watching documentaries such as Business of Being Born and Pregnant in America, I’ve learned that, for myself and for my family, I will do whatever it takes to always have a natural childbirth. From personal experience, I went into labor with the mindset that it would be intense not painful. My Oma performed hypnosis and relaxation techniques of imagining a smooth, calm labor that was quick and successful. I achieved that 100%. My labor was 4 hours long, I was laughing and cracking jokes for the majority of my labor, and was very proud of myself for accomplishing a natural birth. To know that your body took control and you were able to birth with just your power alone is one of the most empowering things women can ever experience. To this day, I am so proud that I was able to do that at only 18 years old. And I honestly believe it was the best choice for both myself and my daughter. Not all women will agree with me, many women swear by the epidural and don’t understand why anyone would go through it without pain-relief. I wonder though, are they empowered by their birth? Did they feel the absolute rush of Oxytocin that I felt as soon as my baby was out of me and onto my chest? Were they able to get up only minutes after the birth and walk into the bathroom?

I want to inform, not judge. If you had the epidural, I don’t look down upon you. That was your choice, and your choice only. But if I can relay this information to just one woman and have her make up her own mind about the different options, then I am satisfied. Birth can be a very stressful, scary experience, but it can also be a beautiful, empowering and life-changing. Research is everything, and sticking to what you want your birth to be. Having a strong support system with husbands, mothers, siblings, doulas or midwives will ensure that you are not easily pressured into making a decision you didn’t originally want. Stick to those guns, ladies, because the ride of raising a child will definitely test your decisions over and over again. Happy birthing!

 

Ps, a few other things that may be beneficial to research: vaccines (pro’s and con’s, delayed schedule), Vitamin K injections (pro’s and con’s), infant eye drops (pro’s and con’s—this one is especially unnecessary unless the mother has a sexually transmitted disease), cord clamping (the benefits of waiting for the cord to stop pulsing before cutting it), saving the placenta (how dried capsules can help with postpartum depression and milk production), attachment parenting (thinking of the first weeks of life like the “4th trimester” of pregnancy), co-sleeping (the ease for breastfeeding mothers and the untruths told about dangers of bed-sharing), and wearing baby (baby bjorns, moby wraps, ergo’s, and the help they can be on new parents).

 

6 thoughts on “Natural vs. Medicated Birth: Do your Research

  1. Wow Dal, this is a very articulate piece on Natural Childbirth. Do I sense a midwife in the making? I would be over the moon with pride! I am in alignment with most of what you have written. As a Labor and Delivery RN, and a woman who has had two natural,unmedicated births, (one at home), I have a unique perspective on this subject. I, too, have no judgment about the choice to have an epidural during labor. However, I had one woman ask me once if I would ask the dentist to skip the Novocaine while drilling out a filling (I would prefer to be put to sleep for any dental work, such is my anxiety and discomfort around dentistry).
    You’re right, I don’t see women who’ve had epidurals jump up out of bed right after delivery (perhaps your age at the time of birth has it’s advantages regardless!) Most providers suggest epidural pain relief after 4 cm, to ensure that labor has seriously engaged, and from my didactic observations it doesn’t always slow labor down- just removes your options for movement/position changes…Not so sure that the combination of epidurals and pitocin are as incompatible as your article suggests. Water retention is a definite side effect of pitocin use. There is now a trend in obstetrics to use oxytocin VERY carefully.
    At our hospital it is carefully monitored and used in the smallest dosages necessary to induce or augment a labor. I’m certain it has been overused or misused in the past, and you’re right to call attention to the fact that it intensifies the contractions force and frequency -sometimes beyond the point where a woman can manage the pain on her own. As far as I have seenhowever, there are no inherent restrictions to movement or showering or jacuzzi tub use while on pitocin. You must be monitors (many facilities have telemetry monitors), you can cover an IV and if your membranes are intact, sometimes even while not, most providers allow women to use alternative labor strategies for pain relief.
    Low risk pregnancies usually end up with low intervention deliveries. It is my observation that women are coming into the labor room with more complex medical conditions than in the past that create the necessity for medical interventions such as induction and cesarean deliveries. It seems we are a nation getting unhealthier… I have also noticed a trend away from remembering that childbirth is one of the oldest and most natural of activities. Our bodies are meant to do this. I remind the women I attend in labor that once they go through the process of bring forth a baby into this world, with all its strength, power and magnificence, there isn’t anything they can’t do!
    All in all, natural childbirth advocates always benefit from a passionate and well informed public. We absolutely must promote natural childbirth as the norm and not the exception. I appreciate your contributions along this path and can’t wait to see what comes of it. Oh, by the way, our hospital just applied to be a “Baby Friendly” Hospital. check it out;http://babyfriendlyusa.org/. It’s been huge, but I am proud to stand behind the practices it promotes.
    Love ya always!
    Auntie Bob

  2. I saw that video too and love it. I remember my doula saying you could by it for $10 and now I’m trying to find it and I cant. Do you remember the name of the researchers in the study or where I can buy that video? It is such a strong learning tool for people interested in natural childbirth so they can see some of the effects of the medications.

    • You know, I actually tried finding the breast crawl video a few months back and couldn’t. It may have been removed. So sad, because I loved that and have mentioned it a few times since. It’s real proof that naturally born babies are born with more instinct than just a bundled lump.

  3. This statement: “I wonder though, are they empowered by their birth? Did they feel the absolute rush of Oxytocin that I felt as soon as my baby was out of me and onto my chest?” is one of the most offensive things I have ever read. I was doing research about natural vs. medicated childbirth and regardless of what my decision will be this statement will continue to offend me. Are you actually questioning whether a mother who has chosen medication should be proud of herself or not? Even with medication labor is hard. Pregnancy is hard. And any woman who goes through it, even if it is with a c-section should be proud and empowered by the fact that she carried and formed a HUMAN in her body for 9+ months and the proceeded to bring that human into the world. And to question if the woman feels “the rush of oxytocin”– which triggers our response to “love” our child is absolutely ridiculous. Of course she does. You can say all you want about not judging women who decide to take a medicated route, and maybe you believe that you are not being judgmental… but you are.

  4. Pingback: Student Article- Natural vs. Medicated | Birth Arts International

Leave a Reply

